Can Mapping Exist Separately from Surveying? 

Professional Surveyor Boards » In the News » Can Mapping Exist Separately from Surveying?

Name Message
Kate

Topic  Can Mapping Exist Separately from Surveying?       Flag »  Reply »
Read J. Allison Butler's Guest Editorial in our August issue and add your comments.
  Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 12:49:14 PM
Spjika

Reply  Re: Can Mapping Exist Separately from Surveying? Flag »  Reply »
JAB- thanks for a stimulating and frustrating article. I'm coming at this from my own perspective as a GISP working in government related spatial work at a nonprofit, I'm a former licensed land surveyor in Australia, now working in California.

I'm happy for you that they never bothered to suck up your time with any legal action, but it would have provided an interesting test of just what is what in this field. This is somewhat reminiscent of the legal cases against county's to release their parcel basemap data at cost, a mistaken attitude on just what government is supposed to be- a platform and a support/service, not a business. For the FSMS to take it's approach with you on this it has to be operating out of abject fear or ignorance, given the hundreds of community groups and agencies doing basic asset mapping and feature surveying in their communities, the huge Open Street Map movement, the Google Maps community and even ESRI's community maps program. Add this to all of us mountain bikers making trail recordings that feature precise locations, angles, elevations and more, how can any organization even claim dominance over such methods, technology and abilities?

Given the pace of technology and how it is out-dating our professions and job descriptions faster than we can recalibrate our university training programs we all need to be responsive to just what the real value/need for our professions are. Should a utility want to
  • know the precise location of a pipe valve,
  • a company need to build a large retaining wall,