Webinar: Space Weather & GNSS: Sources, Characteristics, and Mitigation of Effects

Date: 10/31/2012
NovAtel and Inside GNSS invite you to a webinar

Space Weather & GNSS: Sources, Characteristics, and Mitigation of Effects 

REGISTER TODAY
 
When: Wednesday October 31, 2012
Noon – 1:30 PDT
1:00 pm – 2:30 pm MDT
2:00 pm – 3:30 pm CDT
3:00 pm – 4:30 pm EDT
7:00 pm – 8:30 pm UTC

Sponsored By:

NovAtel, Inc.
Solar Max is coming soon to an atmosphere near you!
The peak of the current solar cycle is approaching its maximum phase next spring, and with it, increased activity in the regions surrounding the Earth.
What does that mean for GNSS equipment designers, manufacturers, and users?
Space weather accounts for the most substantial errors experienced by GPS/GNSS systems and equipment. It is the single largest contributor to the single-frequency GPS error budget and a significant factor affecting differential GPS techniques.

Join Inside GNSS on Wednesday, October 31 at noon PDT, for a FREE web seminar on “Space Weather & GNSS: Sources, Characteristics, and Mitigation of Effects.”

Our panel of experts, including Anthea Coster, MIT Haystack Observatory, and Joe Kunches, National Space Weather Prediction Center, will explore the causes and effects of space weather on GNSS signals and user equipment. Demoz Gebre-Egziabher, University of Minnesota Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics Department, will moderate the discussion.

In 90 minutes of presentations and discussion, this web seminar will cover the solar origin and nature of space weather, its potential adverse impact on GNSS receiver performance, activities to monitor and predict space weather, and the efforts being developed to mitigate its effects.

Who Should Attend:
Product designers, system integrators, application developers, equipment manufacturers, and engineering professionals and users who need a high level of assurance in access to high-precision GNSS positioning and timing.



Featured Industry Experts:
Moderator:

Anthea Coster
Atmospheric Scientist at the Haystack Observatory of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology near Boston. She has worked with GNSS since 1985.

Joe Kunches
Senior Scientist at the NOAA National Weather Service's National Space Weather Prediction Center in Boulder, Colorado. He works with issues that directly affect GNSS users of space weather services.

Demoz Gebre-Egziabher
Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics at the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, USA. His research area is in navigation, guidance, and control of aerospace vehicles.

REGISTER TODAY

For more information please visit http://https://www2.gotomeeting.com/register/811890218


» Back to Calendar

» Submit Your Event

Website design and hosting provided by 270net Technologies in Frederick, Maryland.